SALAM commends 33 UNHRC members that signedjoint statement reaffirming their serious concernsregarding Bahrain’s human rights situation

On 14/09/2015, 33 members of the UN Human Rights Council signed a joint statement stressing their concerns regarding Bahrain’s human rights situation. This is the fifth time Human Rights Council members have released a statement confirming their worries.
The joint statement identified key areas requiring improvements, including the ceasing of harassment and imprisonment of persons exercising rights to freedom of opinion and expression, lack of sufficient guarantees of fair trial, detention of minors, use of excessive force, use of torture, absence of implementation of BICI and UNHRC recommendations, among many others.
The 33 countries that have signed the joint statement are as follows:
Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Bulgaria, Chile, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the United States of America, Uruguay.
SALAM for Democracy and Human Rights sent out a letter of thanks to the ambassadors of each member country that signed the joint statement, to commend them for their expressed stance.
The letter also urged the signatory members to follow and remain vigilant of the issues identified, and to step up pressure in the event the Government of Bahrain does not resolve the problems highl